Motivation

Motivation.  It’s a loaded word and means so many different things to different people. You can be motivated to work hard for a promotion.  You can be motivated to run a marathon. You can be motivated to eat a pint of ice cream–all by yourself. But what does motivation mean to me?

I have always been somewhat driven.  I have a variety of interests and continuously seek new learning opportunities.  I have been told that I work and work and work at something until I master it–and then I move on to the next thing.

So what is motivating me to commit the next two years of my life to the pursuit of a Master of Education in Instructional Design?  Multiple things.  I am extrinsically motivated by the potential career advancement holding such a degree offers. I am extrinsically motivated by the support that friends, family, and colleagues offer.

But I believe the most important motivations as I move along this journey are intrinsic.  I love to learn, I love to help people, and I am loving learning how to better help people by creating engaging and valuable training. I honestly believe that these intrinsic motivations will inspire me to complete this very exciting goal.

Leave a Reply

